LEGISLATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES March 3, 2016

Members Present:

Senator John Marty, Co-chair

Representative Pat Garofalo, Co-chair

Senator David Osmek

Senator Katie Sieben

Representative Paul Anderson

Representative Tom Hackbarth

Representative Melissa Hortman

Representative Tim Mahoney

Representative Chris Swedzinski

Representative Jean Wagenius

Members Excused:

Senator David Brown

Senator Scott Dibble

Senator James Metzen

Senator Julie Rosen

Senator David Senjem

Senator Dan Sparks

Senator David Tomassoni

Representative Joyce Peppin

Representative John Petersburg

Representative Jeanne Poppe

Representative Jim Newberger and Representative Duane Quam were also in attendance.

Senator Marty called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 5:10pm on Thursday, March 3, 2016, in room 10 of the State Office Building.

Presenting before the committee:

Executive Director Update

Legislative Energy Commission – Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director

A Handout was given to Commission members:

"Executive Director Updates: March 3, 2016"

Major pressures on Minnesota electricity prices

Minnesota Power – Jason Risdall, Manager of Regional Accounts

A Handout was given to Commission members:

"Trends in Electricity Prices"

Xcel Energy – Al Krug, Director of Regional Government Affairs

A Handout was given to Commission members:

"Ratemaking Math"

Great River Energy – Jon Brekke, Vice President and Chief Market Officer

A Handout was given to Commission members:

"Minnesota Electricity Prices"

Otter Tail Power – Loren Laugtug, Manager of Legislative Affairs

A Handout was given to Commission members:

"Otter Tail Power Company – MN: Residential monthly customer bill changes since Oct. 2011"

Minnesota Department of Commerce – Bill Grant, Deputy Commissioner of Energy and Telecommunications

The meeting adjourned at 6:38pm.