LEGISLATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES November 18, 2015

<u>Members Present:</u> Senator John Marty, Co-chair Representative Pat Garofalo, Co-chair Senator Kari Dziedzic Representative Paul Anderson Representative Tom Hackbarth Representative Melissa Hortman Representative Tim Mahoney Representative Joyce Peppin Representative Jeanne Poppe Representative Jean Wagenius

<u>Members Excused:</u> Senator David Brown Senator Scott Dibble Senator James Metzen Senator David Osmek Senator Julie Rosen Senator David Senjem Senator Dan Sparks Senator David Tomassoni Representative John Petersburg Representative Chris Swedzinski

Senator Marty called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 3:17pm on Wednesday, November 18, 2015, in room 10 of the State Office Building.

Presenting before the committee:

Executive Director Update

Legislative Energy Commission – Annie Levenson-Falk, Executive Director

A Handout was given to Commission members: "Executive Director Updates: November 18, 2015"

Energy storage and the networked grid

Clean Power Finance – James Tong, Vice President of Strategy and Government Affairs

A Handout was given to Commission members: "Energy Storage and the Networked Grid"

Energy Storage in Minnesota

Great River Energy - Jeff Haase, Conservation Improvement Program Coordinator

Two handouts were given to Commission members, both entitled: "Electric Thermal Storage Water Heating: The Battery in Your Basement"

Minnesota Power – Julie Pierce, Director of Power Supply

A Handout was given to Commission members: "A Unique Approach to Regional Energy Storage"

Xcel Energy - Rick Evans, Director of Regional Government Affairs

Minnesota Department of Commerce – Bill Grant, Deputy Commissioner of Energy and Telecommunications, and Lise Trudeau, Senior Engineering Specialist, Renewable Energy & Advanced Technology

A Handout was given to Commission members: "Minnesota Study of Utility-controlled, customer-sited Battery Storage"

The meeting adjourned at 4:39pm.