LEGISLATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES June 30, 2015

Members Present: Senator John Marty – co-chair Representative Pat Garofalo - co-chair Senator Scott Dibble Senator David Osmek Senator David Senjem Senator David Senjem Senator David Tomassoni Representative Paul Anderson Representative Tim Mahoney Representative Joyce Peppin Representative John Petersburg Representative Jean Wagenius

<u>Members Excused:</u> Senator David Brown Senator Kari Dziedzic Senator James Metzen Senator Dan Sparks Representative David Dill Representative Tom Hackbarth Representative Melissa Hortman Representative Chris Swedzinski

Senator Marty called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 3:05 PM on Tuesday, June 30, 2015 in room 10 of the State Office Building. A quorum was not present.

<u>Report from the Executive Director:</u> Annie Levenson-Falk These handouts were given to Commission members: <u>Executive Director Updates</u>, 2025 Energy Action <u>Plan Project Summary</u>

A quorum was present.

Representative Garofalo moved to approve the minutes from January 22, 2015 meeting. **THE MOTION WAS APPROVED. THE MINUTES WERE APPROVED.**

<u>Presenting before the Commission:</u> Topic: Grid Modernization

How technology is driving change Bob French – Chief Evangelist, 75F Ken Geisler – VP Strategy, Smart Grid, Energy Management Division, Siemens

Adapting utility regulation to a modern grid

Matt Schuerger – President, Energy Systems Consulting Services Beverly Jones-Heydinger – Chair, Public Utilities Commission

Three handouts were given to Commission members: <u>The Internet of Air, Modernization of the Grid, Building a Minnesota Conversation on Grid</u> <u>Modernization with a Focus on Distribution Systems</u>

The meeting adjourned at 5:05 PM.