Clean Energy and Economic Development Initiative

This is a cross-agency industry focused project to develop a strategic action plan to align state economic development and clean energy development strategic and policies. This project is bringing together state agency leaders, policy leaders, industry stakeholder and national experts in pursuit of the following objectives:

- Work closely with industry and policy leaders to develop a comprehensive strategic action plan that will clearly define the State's clean energy and economic development priorities going forward.
- Identify opportunities to (1) align state economic development and clean energy development strategies and policies (2) leverage resources across state and local government and (3) remove policy and program barriers and silos.
- Identify clean energy industry sectors with greatest market potential and identify the emerging opportunities and challenges these industries face in the near and long-term.

Key Participants

Governor Dayton has invited talented, motivated and dedicated leaders to serve on both the core and expanded teams. Team members share a commitment to clean energy and economic development issues. Each member serving on the team offers authority and leadership skills needed to influence policy at the highest level.

Core Team

- Robing Sternberg, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Employment and Economic Development
- Ellen Anderson, Director, University of Minnesota Energy Transitions Lab
- Bill Grant, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Commerce, Division of Energy Resources. (co-chair)
- Melissa Hortman, State Representative and Chair, House Energy Policy Committee
- Will Seuffert, Executive Director, Environmental Quality Board

National Governor's Association & Expert Consultants

- Mary Jo Waits, National Governor's Association
- Tom Plant, Vice President, State Policy, Advanced Energy Economy
- Jeff Lyng, Senior Policy Advisor, Center for the New Energy Economy
- Dan Radomski, Vice President, Venture & Industry Development, NextEnergy

Expanded Team

Ben Fowke, Chairmen, CEO & President, Xcel Energy, Inc. Nancy Lange, Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission Katie Clark Sieben, Commissioner, Department of Employment and **Economic Development** Dave Frederickson, Commissioner, Dept of Agriculture Matt Entenza, Senior Advisor to the Governor

Ben Fowke, Chairmen, CEO & President, Xcel Energy, Inc. Bill Blazar, Senior VP, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce Sherry Ristau, CEO, Southwest Initiative Foundation Michael Noble, Executive Director, Fresh Energy Sheldon Strom, President, Center for Energy and Environment

David Saggau, CEO, Great River Energy

Pete Aube, Plant Manager, Potlatch Lumber Mills

Tracy Anderson, Director of Renewable Energy Solutions, 3M (Ret.)

Cheryl Hills, Director, Region 5 Development Commission Steve Kelley, Senior Fellow, Humphrey School

Dave McMillan, Senior VP of External Affairs, MN Power

Beth Soholt, Executive Director, Wind on the Wires

Ken Smith, President/CEO, District Energy

Pete Klein, Vice President of Finance, Saint Paul Port Authority

Bill Faulkner, Managing Principle, Red Oak Holdings

Lynn Hinkle, Dir., Policy Development, MN Solar Energy Industries

Association

Bruce Peterson, Executive Dean for Academic Initiatives, St. Cloud

Technical and Community College

Teresa Spaeth, Executive Director, AURI

Key Stakeholders

GreaterMSP Partnership Bio Business Alliance of Minnesota-**Regional Development Commissions Biofuels Task Force** Agricultural Utilization Research Institute Minnesota Forest Industries **Great Plains Institute** MN Energy Workforce Consortium Minnesota Clean Tech Open Center Point Energy Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Department of Natural Resources Climate Adaptation Team Minnesota Electric Auto Association

Defense Alliance

Natural Resources Rehabilitation Institute- University of Minnesota.

BlueGreen Alliance

Fresh Energy

Corn Growers Association

Minnesota Power

Great River Energy