LEGISLATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES

July 28, 2014

<u>Members Present:</u> Senator John Marty, Co-Chair Representative Melissa Hortman, Co-Chair Representative Jeanne Poppe Senator Scott Dibble Senator David Osmek Senator David Senjem

<u>Members Excused:</u> Senator David Brown Senator Kari Dziedzic Senator James Metzen Senator Julie Rosen Senator Dan Sparks Senator David Tomassoni Representative David Dill Representative Ron Erhardt Representative Ron Erhardt Representative Pat Garofalo Representative Tom Hackbarth Representative John Petersburg Representative Chris Swedzinski Representative Jean Wagenius

Other Legislators in attendance: Senator Chris Eaton Senator Lyle Koenen

Representative Hortman called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 2:00 p.m. on Monday, July 28, 2014 at 2331 Dancing Wind Road SW, Pine River, MN.

Presenting before the committee:

Executive director update

Annie Levenson-Falk – Executive Director, Legislative Energy Commission

Minnesota's propane supply and delivery, 2013-14 shortage

Roger Leider – Executive Director, Minnesota Propane Association

Farm impacts

Doug Peterson – President, Minnesota Farmers Union Tim Kavanaugh – General Manager, Federated Co-ops Inc.

State-level actions

Bill Grant – Deputy Commissioner, Division of Energy Resources, Minnesota Department of Commerce

Natural gas system extensions

Betsy Wergin - Commissioner, Minnesota Public Utilities Commission

Chris Conrad - Director, Account Management, Xcel Energy

Gary Greenheck - Mayor, City of Pillager

Energy assistance

Richard Fuchs – Energy/Housing Department Director, Lakes and Pines Community Action Council Karen Moe – Energy Policy Director, Minnesota Community Action Partnership

The meeting adjourned at 4:42 p.m.