LEGISLATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES

January 8, 2014

Members Present: Senator John Marty, Co-Chair Representative Melissa Hortman, Co-Chair Representative Andrew Falk Representative Pat Garofalo Representative Jean Wagenius Senator Scott Dibble Senator David Osmek Senator David Senjem Representative David Dill Representative Ron Erhardt Representative Tom Hackbarth Representative John Petersburg Representative Chris Swedzinski Senator David Brown Senator James Metzen Senator Dan Sparks

Members Excused: Representative Jeanne Poppe Senator Kari Dziedzic Senator Julie Rosen

Senator David Tomassoni

Senator Marty called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 3:05 pm on Wednesday, January 8, 2014 in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Representative Hortman moved approval of the minutes from the June, September and December meetings. MOTION PREVAILED.

Senator Metzen moved proposed amendment to commission rules that the executive director, with authorization of the co-chairs, would be able to approve expenses related to the operation of the commission. MOTION PREVAILED.

Dr. Martin Kushler, Senior Fellow, American Council for Energy-Efficient Economy, presented on energy efficiency policy in the state of Minnesota.

Adam Arling, Jeremy Kalin, Eric Jensen from the Izaak Walton League, and Ben Gerber from the Minnesota Chamber of Commerce presented on the Citizens League's efforts activities for a recommended policy framework to optimize efficiency of the electrical energy system.

Will Nissen, Fresh Energy presented on decoupling.

Amy Liberkowski and Rick Evens from Xcel Energy presented on the company's decoupling in proposal in their latest rate case at the PUC.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:00 pm.