LEGISLATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES

December 19, 2013

<u>Members Present</u>: Representative Melissa Hortman, Co-Chair Senator John Marty, Co-Chair Representative Andrew Falk Representative Pat Garofalo Representative Jean Wagenius Senator Scott Dibble Senator David Osmek Senator David Senjem

Members Excused: Representative David Dill Representative Ron Erhardt Representative Tom Hackbarth Representative John Petersburg Representative Jeanne Poppe Representative Chris Swedzinski Senator David Brown Senator Vari Dziedzic Senator James Metzen Senator Julie Rosen Senator Dan Sparks Senator David Tomassoni

Representative Hortman called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 6:06 pm on Thursday, December 19, 2013 in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was not present.

Representative Hortman introduced Annie Levenson-Falk, the new executive director of the Legislative Energy Commission.

Senator Marty moved approval of the minutes from the June 20, 2013 and September 25, 2013 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED. (The chair noted a quorum was not present so the minutes will need re-approval.)

Bill Grant, Division of Energy Resources, Minnesota Department of Commerce, presented an overview on energy efficiency in the state of Minnesota.

Mike Myser, Executive Vice President, Energy Platforms, presented on the ESP on-line IT platform as well as Conservation Improvement Program (CIP) savings and value.

Jenny Edwards, Program Manager, Center for Energy and Environment, presented on the rate mitigation effects of DSM programs.

Rick Evans and Jessie Peterson, Xcel Energy, provided an update on Xcel conservation programs and experiences.

Jill Curran Director, Environment Sustainability Programs, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, presented an overview of the energy smart program.

Dr. Martin Kushler, Senior Fellow, American Council for Energy-Efficient Economy, presented on energy efficiency policy in the state of Minnesota.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:53 pm.