## LEGISLATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION

## **MEETING MINUTES**

June 20, 2013

## Members Present:

Senator John Marty, Co-Chair
Representative Melissa Hortman, Co-Chair
Senator David Brown
Senator Scott Dibble
Senator James Metzen
Senator David Osmek
Senator David Tomassoni
Representative Ron Erhardt
Representative Tom Hackbarth
Representative John Petersburg
Representative Jeanne Poppe
Representative Chris Swedzinski
Representative Jean Wagenius

## Members Excused:

Senator Kari Dziedzic Senator Julie Rosen Senator David Senjem Senator Dan Sparks Representative David Dill Representative Andrew Falk Representative Pat Garofalo

Senator Marty called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 11:41 am on Thursday, June 20, 2013 in Room 15 of the State Capitol.

A quorum was present.

Representative Hortman moved approval of the minutes from the April 10, 2013 meeting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hortman presented an overview of the responsibilities and statutory duties of the Legislative Energy Commission.

Members discussed the proposal of hiring an executive director for the commission, reviewed the executive director position description, and reviewed information related to the hiring process.

Greg Hubinger, Director of the Legislative Coordinating Commission, addressed member questions related to hiring policies.

Representative Hortman moved to authorize the commission co-chairs hire a staff person to perform the duties listed in the executive director position description and to follow the processes discussed in the hiring process, including a bipartisan group to make the final decision and that the salary will be set, as directed in statute, by the executive director and the chair of the Legislative Coordinating Commission.

Rep. Hackbarth requested a roll call vote.

Voting Aye: Marty, Dibble, Metzen, Tomassoni, Hortman, Erhardt, Poppe, Wagenius

Voting Nay: Brown, Osmek, Hackbarth, Petersburg, Swedzinski

There being 8 ayes and 5 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Hortman moved approval of the Proposed Rules for the Legislative Energy Commission. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting adjourned at 12:29 pm.