LEGISLATIVE ENERGY COMMISSION

Meeting Minutes: Monday, March 9, 2009 6:00 p.m., Room 15 Capitol

Members Present:

Senator Ellen Anderson Senator Satveer Chaudhary

Senator Steve Dille Senator John Doll Senator Gary Kubly Senator Julie Rosen

Senator David Senjem

Senator Yvonne Prettner Solon

Representative Kent Eken

Representative Tom Hackbarth

Representative Bill Hilty

Representative Frank Hornstein

Representative Al Juhnke

Representative Kate Knuth

Representative Mary Ellen Otremba

Representative Doug Magnus

Representative Torrey Westrom

Members Excused:

Senator James Metzen Senator Pat Pariseau

Representative Michael Beard

Call to Order

Sen. Yvonne Prettner Solon called the meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission to order at 6:27 pm. A quorum was present.

Introduction of Members

Sen. Prettner Solon explained that there were 20 members serving on the commission, ten members of the Senate appointed by the Subcommittee on Committees and ten members of the House appointed by the Speaker of the House.

Election of Chairs

Sen. Prettner Solon stated that House members of the commission had met and elected Rep. Bill Hilty to serve as co-chair and that Senate members of the commission also met and elected Sen. Prettner Solon to serve as co-chair.

Duties of the Legislative Energy Commission

Sen. Prettner Solon reviewed proposed rules to govern the commission. A subcommittee was

appointed to review the proposed rules. Sen. Prettner Solon, Sen. Rosen, Sen. Kubly, Rep. Beard, Rep. Knuth and Rep. Hilty were appointed to the subcommittee.

Members then reviewed the duties before the commission as laid out in Subdivision 3 of Minnesota Statutes 3.8851. Member discussion ensued as to how to move forward with fulfilling those duties. Members also discussed their expectations for the commission.

Administrative Duties

Rep. Hilty reviewed a document relating to the need for an executive director for the Legislative Energy Commission. Member discussion ensued.

Next Steps

Sen. Solon announced that the next meeting of the Legislative Energy Commission will be held on Wednesday, March 25th at 6:30 pm in room 200 of the State Office Building. The meeting will be on nuclear energy.

There being no further business, Sen. Prettner Solon adjourned the meeting at 7:35 pm.